13
Sep
08

Banana Cupcakes with Chocolate Ganache & Cream Cheese Frosting

I found this recipe for Banana Cupcakes with Chocolate Ganache & Cream Cheese Frosting
in the San Francisco Chronicle when I searched for a dessert to make with bananas and chocolate.  I really had no idea whether this would turn out or be a total disaster, first of all because this is a more complicated recipe than I usually make and also because I was missing three important ingredients: buttermilk, corn syrup, and powdered sugar.

Making a buttermilk substitute is easy to do with milk and vinegar or lemon juice, so that’s what I did.  The cupcakes seemed to come out fine.

In the ganache, I substituted brown sugar for the corn syrup.  It dissolved and the ganache seemed none the worst for wear.

The powdered sugar in the frosting was the most major ingredient missing.  I made the frosting according to the instructions and added ½ cup regular sugar instead of the 2 cups powdered sugar.  I beat the frosting extra to be sure the sugar dissolved.  The frosting wasn’t as stiff as it should have been, but tasted good and was thick enough to stay on the cupcakes.

Filling the cupcakes with ganache was challenging.  I used an icing bag with a small tip, but the cupcakes were so dense that not much chocolate went in.  A better approach would be to cut out a small hole in the tops of the cupcakes, add filling, and then cover the hole with the icing layer.

The cupcakes looked fine but a little boring when I was finished, so I grated some Ghirardelli Espresso Escape Intense Dark Chocolate over the tops of the them.

2 Responses to “Banana Cupcakes with Chocolate Ganache & Cream Cheese Frosting”


  1. September 17, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    Thanks for the information…I bookmarked your site, and I appreciate your time and effort to make your blog a success!

  2. 2 Elizabeth
    September 17, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    Thanks, Rachael! Hope you continue to enjoy the blog.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites


