03
Oct
08

Homemade Bagels

There’s not a great place to buy bagels near where we live… Bruegger’s is decent but not a real deli and I’m tired of the wild goose chase to find bagels.  So I decided to make my own tonight.  Had no idea what to expect about how they’d come out, but they were actually fine.  I did learn a few lessons for next time, though.

Here’s the recipe I used:  Homemade Bagels from the Food Network.

I used the bread hook attachment on my mixer for all the mixing and kneading and that made things easy.  The dough rose well and was easy to shape into bagels.  I put them on a sheet of wax paper to rise for the second time and they stuck really badly.  Getting them off the paper messed up the shape before I boiled them.  When they rose, the holes totally filled in.  Maybe I should have stretched them out more before letting them rise for the second time. I cooked them for 23 minutes instead of 30 and that was plenty.

The bagels tasted good – the yeast flavor really came out.  We made bagel and egg sandwiches for breakfast.

0 Responses to “Homemade Bagels”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites


