14
Oct
08

The MSNBC Beep

Yet another non-cooking post.  Has anyone else noticed that extremely annoying high-pitched electronic beep in the background on MSNBC broadcasts?  It happens in the middle of people talking, so it’s not an intentional sound effect.  It sounds like three rapid high beeps in a row, and it’s barely audible, so it’s in that really annoying range where you wonder if you really heard it and where it’s coming from.  It reminds me of when the smoke alarm battery needs to be changed in a neighboring condo unit — the noise is faint but so obnoxious nonetheless.  Does anyone know what this is?  A sound within the studio?  Can we get them to make it stop?  Please?!?!?!?

5 Responses to “The MSNBC Beep”


  1. 1 Chris
    October 15, 2008 at 2:39 am

    YES – I first noticed the annoying beep a few weeks ago on Rachel Maddow’s show. I swear its happening with every broadcast and it looks as though some guests can hear it while they are speaking. On one occasion Rachel mentioned something about the noise and their infrastructure failing. It sounds like one of their backup power sources needs a battery check.

    Now I think I can hear the same noise although less frequently on Hardball…

    MSNBC – Please Fix Your Studio!

  2. 2 Elizabeth
    October 16, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    Glad someone else noticed it, too!

  3. December 29, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    It’s still driving me nuts!!! Why can’t they get rid of it???

  4. 4 rm
    January 27, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    I hear that beep all the time. I was watching MSNBC tonight and there it was again. So i typed on my computer “annoying beeping noise on MSNBC” and it linked me to this site. I will tell you this; I don’t hear the beeping noise unless I have had a few drinks. Yes, I drink and watch MSNBC. This is a study. Anyone else have the same results?

  5. February 19, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    2 comments on a Daily Kos discussion thread say it is an alert for when a new story comes over the wire. I’m not sure if it is specific to just the AP, but I’m sure a resourceful person could figure it out.

    See link or Google “The only problem with the Rachel Maddow show”


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites


