22
Oct
08

More Bagels

I made homemade bagels for the first time a few weeks ago.   This time I used the same recipe, but added some toppings:  toasted onions, sea salt and asiago cheese (each separately).  I added the toppings after boiling the bagels, just before baking.  For the toasted onions (enough topping for 2 bagels) I finely chopped some red onions, mixed them with a tablespoon of olive oil and broiled them for about 10 minutes.  This batch of bagels tasted even better than the last.  I think having the toppings floating around (especially the onions) helped give even the plain bagels some flavor – that “everything” taste the bagels get at the bakery or deli.

Here’s a link to the recipe:  Emeril’s Homemade Bagels from the Food Network.

Here’s a link to my original post and modifications I made to the recipe:  Homemade Bagels.

1 Response to “More Bagels”


  1. October 25, 2008 at 1:50 am

    I don’t know on how I stumbled upon this cooking blog., All I know is that I’d better check out the archives for a good read. Ha-ha! Just droppin’ to say hi!
    Oh. You might want to check this out: http://www.technocooks.com for uhm…a different “menu.”


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites


