02
Nov
08

Beef Stew in Red Wine Sauce

Beef Stew in Red Wine Sauce

Yet another great Jacques Pepin recipe from Food and Wine.  All in all, the recipe was fantastic, came out very flavorful and rich.

I had to modify the recipe slightly because Lund’s grocery store surprisingly didn’t have a couple of the items I needed:  flatiron steak and pancetta. Here are the ingredient changes I made:

-Substituted sirloin for flatiron steak.
-Substituted thick-cut bacon for pancetta.

Following are the process changes I made:

-Cooked the meat in the wine in the oven for one hour instead of 1.5.  Still, it came out drier than I would have hoped.

-Cooked the bacon in the pan for the vegetables, then added the vegetables to the bacon when it was crispy.  Relied on the grease from the bacon drippings rather than adding olive oil.

I served this over white rice with crusty Italian peasant bread on the side, and garnished it with thyme sprigs.  One other thing – my husband hates mushrooms and I love them, so I kept them in the recipe and just didn’t put any on his plate. They do add a lot of flavor.  The wine I used in the stew was La Playa 2006 Merlot from the Colchagua Valley of Chile.

0 Responses to “Beef Stew in Red Wine Sauce”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites


