07
Nov
08

Quick-Roasted Chicken with Mustard and Garlic and Mixed Greens

  • mustardgarlicchicken

Quick-Roasted Chicken with Mustard and Garlic

I found this recipe at Food and Wine.  Instead of roasting a whole chicken, I went with two bone-in breasts with the skin on, and cut the other ingredients in half.  The recipe was fantastic and the chicken turned out juicy and flavorful with just the right amount of tanginess from the mustard and Tabasco.

mgchickencooking

I made a couple minor changes to the cooking process.  When I browned the chicken in the pan, I turned the pieces over and did a few minutes on each side.  I then transferred them to a small pyrex baking dish.  I was concerned that the chicken would get dry at 450, so I put 2 teaspoons of butter and ¼ cup chicken broth in the baking dish with the chicken.  I cooked it for 25 minutes and then let it rest for five minutes, and served it with white rice and a mixed greens salad.  For the salad dressing, I mixed a couple tablespoons of olive oil with about one tablespoon each of balsamic vinegar and red wine vinegar.  I then added a touch of honey and salt and pepper.  I used Bogle Chardonnay to cook with and to served it with the meal.

boglechardonnay

1 Response to “Quick-Roasted Chicken with Mustard and Garlic and Mixed Greens”


  1. November 8, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    WOW! Dinner recipe & a wine suggestion as well. Fancy! Love it!


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites


