29
Nov
08

Anti-Snob Wine Appreciation from The 4-Hour Workweek

Four-Hour Workweek author Timothy Ferriss recently wrote a fun blog post called Anti-Snob Wine Appreciation: 7 Tips from Sonoma. This is something I can appreciate, as someone who loves wine but doesn’t like to spend a ton of money on bottles to drink with dinner.  To me, “good wine” is all about the experience, not the price tag.  Did it taste good?  Did it complement the food?  Was it a pleasure to drink on its own?  Was it an interesting varietal I’d never tried before?  Did it teach me something about a region?  These are the things I care about when I pick out a wine.  So without further ado, here’s a quick rundown of Ferris’s “anti-snob” methods of wine appreciation (and be sure to read the full article):

1.  Don’t worry if you can’t pick out the “hints of coriander, cauliflower, and cat fur” in your wine — you don’t have to be a supertaster.

2.  Move from the elbow instead of the wrist to swirl like you were born with a wineglass in your hand.

3.  Remember that tasting is smell-dependent.

4.  Try using a wine aerator.

5.  Try wines at different temperatures and don’t over-chill the whites.

6.  Go for varietals that are out of style.

7.  It’s all about you.

PS — If you haven’t read The 4-Hour Workweek, check it out. It will change your life.

3 Responses to “Anti-Snob Wine Appreciation from The 4-Hour Workweek”


  1. 1 Joe
    November 29, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    Lately, my wife’s been getting into wine more regularly. She’ll love this post, it’s right up her alley. I’m sure she’ll be back later with her two cents. Have a great weekend!

  2. 2 Joe
    November 29, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    This is a great post! Right up my wife’s alley, as she’s been getting more and more into wines. I’m sure she’ll be back later giving her two cents, after I tell her about your post. Happy Holidays!

  3. November 29, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    I really enjoyed this post. Joe said I had to read this, and he was right. I have recently gotten into wines. I also feel that you don’t need to spend lots of money on wine to enjoy it. It’s per everyones tastes & preferences. Like I like all my wines chilled, red & white and all my friends make fun of me because of this. I like going to the wine stores, Trader Joe’s and going through the different labels, I end up picking out wine more due to their label. And I have had some really good ones like that that are anywhere from $4-$10 a bottle. Thanks for the great read. I have book marked it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites


