30
Nov
08

Homemade Bread

breadsliced

As I mentioned in my previous post, it’s snowy and 25 degrees in Minneapolis this morning and I didn’t want to go to the store.  We just got back from a week-long trip, so there’s basically no food in our house.  Decided to make some homemade bread instead of braving the elements.  This also solves the problem of ending up with stale bread every time I buy it at the store.

breadrising

I found this step-by-step recipe on how to make homemade bread at The Simple Dollar.  The process and directions were good except for one small issue I noticed with the part about the yeast.  The Simple Dollar directions say “Mix up the yeast according to the directions on the packet. Usually, it will say something along the lines of ‘add a cup of warm water to the yeast and stir.'”  The yeast package says use 1/4 cup warm water. This is not enough.  You should use 1 cup.  On my first batch of dough, I only used 1/4 cup and ended up having to add water while mixing the dough.  It ruined the consistency and made the dough a little tough.  I ended up baking that batch anyway, but it didn’t turn out quite as well as the second batch I made using 1 cup of water. In the photo below, the loaf on the left had the correct amount of water to start with (1 cup) and the one on the right had too little.

breadbakedpans

Other than the water, I followed the recipe exactly.  The bread was ready in 25 minutes instead of the 30 called for.  We cut into the better-looking loaf first and it tasted great.  No more stale storebought bread for us!

breadcooling

For lunch we heated up some bowls of Dad’s Quick Chile con Carne I had frozen the last time I made it.  Great food for a cold day!

breadchileconcarne

0 Responses to “Homemade Bread”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites


